Twelve Introspective Inspirational Quotes by Michel de Montaigne

Michel de Montaigne - The greatest thing in the world is to know how to belong to oneself.

  1. “The greatest thing in the world is to know how to belong to oneself.”

  2. “My life has been filled with terrible misfortune; most of which never happened.”

  3. “A man who fears suffering is already suffering from what he fears.”

  4. “Every man bears the whole stamp of the human condition.”

  5. “Learned we may be with another man’s learning: we can only be wise with wisdom of our own.”

  6. “Not being able to govern events, I govern myself.”

  7. “The beautiful souls are they that are universal, open, and ready for all things.”

  8. “When I dance, I dance; when I sleep, I sleep; yes, and when I walk alone in a beautiful orchard, if my thoughts drift to far-off matters for some part of the time for some other part I lead them back again to the walk, the orchard, to the sweetness of this solitude, to myself.”

  9. “Rejoice in the things that are present; all else is beyond thee.”

  10. “To compose our character is our duty, not to compose books, and to win, not battles and provinces, but order and tranquility in our conduct. Our great and glorious masterpiece is to live appropriately. All other things, ruling, hoarding, building, are only little appendages and props, at most. -My art and profession is to live.”

  11. “I listen with attention to the judgment of all men; but so far as I can remember, I have followed none but my own.”

  12. “The value of life lies not in the length of days, but in the use we make of them… Whether you find satisfaction in life depends not on your tale of years, but on your will.”

Michel de Montaigne (1533 – 1592)

2 thoughts on “Twelve Introspective Inspirational Quotes by Michel de Montaigne

You're welcome to post a comment. I'd love to answer any question that you may have.

